Model 94 Help Needed

.22LR
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 2:24 pm
A number of years ago I bought a used Model 94 in 30-30. It is in the 6 million serial range and has a cross bolt safety.
It fired just fine when I bought it, but hasn't been fired in 4 or 5 years. I took it to the range, and it would fire, extract the empty, and then on about every other round the nose of the bullet would jam up against the breech face instead of chambering.
It appeared the cartridge carrier was not lifting the round high enough in the rear and so the angle of the round was too steep as the bolt moved forward.
I tried babying the lever, I tried smartly working the lever, I had some gun oil with me and squirted it on the mechanism. Nothing worked.
Can anyone give me any ideas?
I guess I'll have to remove the bolt and strip the receiver for a thorough clean and lube, but I've never done that with a 94 before. I'm mechanically inclined and firearm savvy, but if it is something simple I'd like to try that first.
Oh, the ammo was Hornady, and Remington Core Locked.
Member: Veterans of Foreign Wars, American Legion, Vietnam Veterans of America, AMVETS, Society of the 5th Infantry Division
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 11:05 am
Sorry Al, can't help you with your question...

But I'm sure someone here will have an answer.

If you search YouTube...takedown procedures can be found to help.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:35 pm
I really don't know that much but if I had to make a guess based on what you described, maybe replacing the carrier spring might help.

.270 WIN
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 7:42 am
I would call the Winchester Parts Department in Arnold Missouri. We are really good here at fixing guns although we are not certified gunsmiths. In my travels I have found that the Winchester parts Department
people know these guns well. Also you may need a minor part or it may need adjustment.

.270 WIN
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 7:46 am